Using Twitter to Find a Job – A Real Life Example

In previous posts I have told you how you can build great relationships via Twitter. Also, Craig Fisher wrote about the “cool kids” that are using Twitter and other social media outlets to network. Now, I want to give you a real example of how Ben McCormack, a new MATRIX consultant, used Twitter to find a job.

I spoke with Ben a few days ago, and asked him to walk me through the job-search process he used on Twitter.

Did you join Twitter intending to look for a job?
I joined twitter about 8 months ago to start following experts in the Microsoft .NET Silverlight space. I noticed there were many industry experts on Twitter so I figured it could be a great tool to gain knowledge of a specific subject. I started following a guy by the name of Joel Spolsky. One day, I noticed a tweet that they were hiring a Support Engineer in New York. So I responded to the tweet and actually got a job interview. Though, I didn’t get that specific job, it made me realize that Twitter really can be a powerful tool in a job search.

How did you find your new job on Twitter?

Like I said, I wasn’t actively “looking for a job.” But, one day I noticed that one of your recruiters, Kelly Thielemann, started following me. I looked at her profile information and saw that she was a Technical Recruiter in the Atlanta area. I read through the information she was sharing on Twitter, and I liked it, so I decided to start following her.

A few days later, she sent out a job that she was looking to fill. It sounded interesting to me so I went ahead and responded to her. From there, MATRIX took care of the rest.

How often did you check Twitter for updates?
I use a desktop application called TweetDeck to arrange and organize my Twitter account. I stayed of top of the information that was being shared daily – usually every evening.

What I like about Twitter is you can be close enough to see what’s going on, but you are not obligated to respond.

Do you think Twitter is a powerful tool in a job search?
Yes. Definitely. Again, you can keep a pulse on what is going on in and around the “technical community.” My e-mail wasn’t clogged with “suggested jobs” and I didn’t have to browse through jobs on a career site.

Now, I know that Ben’s story sounds easy. And, not everyone will be followed by a Technical Recruiter in the exact city where they are looking for a job.

So, you need to be proactive and, just as Ben did, follow experts that are in your field. Run searches using TweepSearch.com or Search.Twitter.com to find specific people or conversations. You can also find numerous articles about using Twitter to find a job.

The point is, Twitter really does work in a job search.

Tags: , , ,

About AdamWaid

Adam Waid is a revenue marketer. With over 10 years of industry experience Adam is a strategic thinker who has a passion for producing revenue-generating results through solutions-driven marketing. Director of Customer Success at Pardot a Salesforce Company, Adam is focused on customer adoption, building scalable processes and programs, and delivering increased customer satisfaction and retention. Adam has a passion for ensuring Salesforce customers achieve the highest revenue possible using marketing automation. Adam is extremely active in the Atlanta marketing community. He was named 2014 Atlanta Interactive Marketer of the Year by AIMA; chairs the Marketing Automation group within the Atlanta Interactive Marketing Association (AiMA); organizes quarterly marketing automation meet-ups, teaches Digital Marketing courses, has written over 60 marketing blogs, 5 digital marketing eBooks, and speaks regularly at industry events.

3 responses to “Using Twitter to Find a Job – A Real Life Example”

  1. Twitter For Marketing says :

    Twitter For Marketing – This site also has great information. It includes tutorials on twitter and using twitter tools, and also the best way to use twitter for marketing. It is definatly worth a read.

  2. Jennefer Bourdeau says :

    Awesome opinion. I got to your blog with yahoo while i was searching for job offers. I will turn over your site to my colleagues and I am sure they hopefully think the same about your efforts on this site.All Best

  3. tom says :

    Thanks for all of the great information! I believe you have to be creative and stimulating in order to put yourself on the market and show others what you can do. I have been using a website called http://www.careersuccessions.com that provides tools to make future candidates for employment stand out of the crowd. The site offers career consultants, job hunting tips, and career advancement. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

