UPDATE: The Power of Twitter for Customer Service.

Last month I told you how the doors that I bought from the HomeDepot leaked and caused my newly installed hardwood floors to buckle. I used Twitter to voice my frustrations with the situation and within two hours the HomeDepot responded to my tweet. They found my tweet by doing searches on social media.

Through numerous @tweets, direct messages, and a few phone calls, HomeDepot came through and are covering the damages in full. What’s even better, is that I was never “bumped” around from department to department as I am when I try to call other companies about issues.

Because of Twitter, they found me and began working towards making me a happy customer once again.

Below are what my floors looked like when they began buckling. They have gotten worse since this photo was taken, but soon this whole ordeal will be behind us! Thanks Stephanie @HomeDepot!

This was our floors soon after they started to buckle. They have since gotten worse.

Tags: , ,

About AdamWaid

Adam Waid is a revenue marketer. With over 10 years of industry experience Adam is a strategic thinker who has a passion for producing revenue-generating results through solutions-driven marketing. Director of Customer Success at Pardot a Salesforce Company, Adam is focused on customer adoption, building scalable processes and programs, and delivering increased customer satisfaction and retention. Adam has a passion for ensuring Salesforce customers achieve the highest revenue possible using marketing automation. Adam is extremely active in the Atlanta marketing community. He was named 2014 Atlanta Interactive Marketer of the Year by AIMA; chairs the Marketing Automation group within the Atlanta Interactive Marketing Association (AiMA); organizes quarterly marketing automation meet-ups, teaches Digital Marketing courses, has written over 60 marketing blogs, 5 digital marketing eBooks, and speaks regularly at industry events.

7 responses to “UPDATE: The Power of Twitter for Customer Service.”

  1. Sylvia Kuck says :

    Funny – I love that companies care when we complain, but actually find it irritating that they seem to care more if their complaints are in a public setting. I know Comcast works this way – complain by phone and they’ll get you an appt in three weeks no matter how you beg. Tweet about how you work from home and how much it bothers you and they’ll get someone out in three days (true story that happened to my friend).

    I wish more companies would respond to BOTH social and traditional customer service channels. Only responding to social is handling the issue at the high end of the wave – not when it could be prevented in most cases. I call that crisis management and not helping your long-term reputation (brand!). Can’t speak for Home Depot customer service – they may have handled a phone call (when you got to the right dep’t) equally well, but other companies… not so much. Good luck with the floors and doors!

  2. adamwaid says :

    Sylvia-

    Thanks for your comment. I agree. It is very frustrating when a company bounces you around or pushes your issue on the back burner.

    I can only speak for the Home Depot for this issue. But I also had a problem with a product that I bought a few months back and they took care of my problem quickly through “traditional” customer service as well. So, in my opinion, I think other companies should look to Home Depot as a model for customer service.

    Thanks!

    -Adam

Leave a Reply

